6 years ago today…

The topic that i’ll attack today is very close to my heart, and brain. I’ll try not to bore you with specifics or whatnot, but please know that today I’m not speaking as a girl with to much time on her hands (As per usual)- I’m speaking as a person who has a something to give you, that might one day do something for you.

Stroke is Australia’s second  highest killer, behind Coronary Heart Disease.
In August 2008, at the ripe old age of 19- I was one of those victims. I say I was a victim, because it wasn’t my choice. I went down like a sack of potatoes, and didn’t understand who I woke up as. It levered out the old me, but left the new me.
Because of this, I also am living with minor Aphasia; ( The inability/difficulty to produce words or sounds because of a brain injury or stroke.)
I’ve gotten so much better because of friends and family that now, they hardly notice it. I still kick myself sometimes when I can’t finish a sentence correctly, or totally lose track of my speech and sit there in silence and I realize that  My brain is just trying to process things and gets stuck every now and again.

Everything that has happened to me in the last 6 years has shaped the person I am today, and for that (I hate to say it but…) I’m grateful.
I don’t think I’d have the relationships with my family or my friends and I definitely wouldn’t have my partner in my life if that didn’t happen to me. I’d be a completely different person, with completely different goals in life. I’m scared to think of where I’d be now, because just the thought of it is so foreign.

I recently found The Stroke Foundation, Australia- and purchased a Stroke Solidarity String.

10469222_10152255015338314_2333123206158911215_n

It sounds corny, But I wear this blue cord wrapped around my wrist and It reminds me that everything that I’ve been through made me the person I am today.  It reminds my to say Thanks:

Thanks Body, for being resilient enough to cope.
Thanks Heart, for sending blood the wrong way.
Thanks Brain, for not chucking it in entirely and leaving me around (albeit, slightly damaged) to fight another day.

If you’re worried, do your research. There really isn’t any way you can tell if you’ll have a stroke, but there are things you can do to lessen your chances.
I’m not religious at all, so I don’t have anything sentimental to say to end this slightly odd post.

National Stroke Week, 8-14 September 2014

Talk to someone affected
Buy a Stroke Solidarity String and join the fight
Or simply do the research to lessen your chance of being a statistic.
Wear It. Show It. Share It. 


Leave a Reply

