Fly, my Curls

I was sitting at a window in Brisbane domestic airport; looking out with my coffee and computer, wondering what to do for the next hour or so.
I casually looked around, and saw that a few people were looking at me, startled. I rushed to the bathroom, expecting my mascara to have leaked and I had panda eyes, or my dress to have a giant, unseen stain on it… but nothing.

Coming out I was dumbfounded and I promptly returned to my seat with a scowl. Most of the staring people had gone, so I was relatively isolated for a few moments until I felt a hand on my shoulder.

It was a man in his late 40’s/early 50’s, with grey hair that hadn’t completely escaped his head yet. He was wearing little blue glasses, that matched his blue button down and jeans. His brown eyes glinted over his glasses and he softly said, “If you’re wondering why everyone was staring at you, its because of your hair.”

I put a hand to my fluffy-rain-loving-hair, raised an eyebrow and asked, “Why, was there anything in it?!”

He chuckled and replied, “No, there wasn’t. But if they’re anything like me, they probably noticed you straight away when you walked in. Your curls aren’t something the general public see’s every day.”

I looked at him thoughtfully.
“My curls thank you for the compliment. They’re trying to play a game called ‘Escape the follicles’ because its raining. They’re becoming exceptionally good at it.”

He grinned and said, “It was a pleasure to make your acquaintance, Curls. You’re owner is very lucky to have you.”
With that, he smiled once more, waved and walked away.


The people you meet when you have less than ordinary hair!!

Leave a Reply

